Moment In Time: Palermo, Italy 1971

Standard

Bonsoir! Or should i say Buona Sera,

I think a picture is worth a thousand words.

This picture is no exception.

I found this picture on pinterest.

When I saw this I had an immediate reaction, I felt transported to that space like an outsider looking in.

I could feel the heat, hear the rolling of the wheel, the sound of the church bells ringing, the children’s laughter filling the streets and imagine the mother calling out to them. All that life embedded in a memory, although it’s not my memory, the essence of the photographer lies within. The photographer, being an outsider himself captures a moment in time.

Henri Cartier-Bresson says, “To me, photography is the simultaneous recognition, in a fraction of a second, of the significance of an event.”

and with that I say;

A la Prochaine,

De moi pour toi

One response »

  1. Pingback: A legacy captured in photographs | De moi pour toi

Start the Conversation =)

