Friends are like flowers, or in my case she’s a clumsy, christmas caroling, Italian

Standard

Bonsoir tout le monde,

I think that people come into your life for a reason. Sometimes people enter your life for a brief moment.  I like to think of these people as those who are meant to show you something, they bring a lesson.These people walk along your path, but every path always has twists and turns, they have crosswalks. When you have learned the lessons they have taught you and you have taught them some lessons they continue along thier path and you continue along yours.

Then there are those who when you first meet them, there’s an instant connection. These people feel like old souls, as if you’ve met before or there’s a feeling of significance, you can’t describe it or explain it for that matter.  But you get the feeling that they will be around for a long time.

I’ve always wondered how people can  have friends they’ve known since kindergarden, or maintain friendships with people who live overseas. This thought has always baffled me, until recently, or rather today.

Today I spent the day with my best friend, I never have friends over because there’s not really much to do at my place and my area isn’t exciting.There’s really nothing to do. Usually i’ll meet people downtown, we’ll grab coffee, a drink, maybe catch a movie, go to theatre. It’s always an adventure i’ll tell you that much.

When I think back we didn’t do anything uber exciting.  We stayed at my place, shared a meal, watched some movies, and took a trip down memory lane. I remember the first day we met, it was at a young artist group. You know that feeling when your in a room full of people you don’t know and are meeting for the first time. It feels awkward, tense. You don’t know whether to introduce yourself or to wait till the icebreaker happens.

She was sitting on her own, and I don’t know how to explain it but I was curious about her. I waited till we went around the group and introduced ourselves, at the end of the session I went up to her and asked her if she was hispanic because her name sounded hispanic and she answered no i’m Italian but I get hispanic a lot.

6 years later, she’s sitting on my couch watching grown ups and has just given me a painting of a street that we walked along in Nice. Its funny because those years have flown by.

Our friendship grows a little more as each day goes by.

I am happy and honoured to have her in my life.

And suddenly, I understand how people can be friends for a lifetime, it takes work, but it doesn’t feel like work when your having fun.

A la prochaine,

De moi, pour toi

2 responses »

  1. I think as I get older this is even more true. I live in the middle of nowhere and like you there is nothing to do but walk in the countryside (during the day and if the weather is good enough) but as my close friends are scattered all over the UK and indeed all over the world I often have friends round as when they visit they need to stay over. There’s nothing I enjoy more than cooking a meal, drinking wine, listening to music and just talking, laughing and enjoying each other’s company. It’s you that people will come to see not the area. 🙂

    • Thank you Cathy, for taking the time to read and comment. Sometimes just walking in the countryside and having “nothing to do” inspires creativity and in those moments we find profound memories. The street we walked down has become more than the street we walk by everyday. I’ll try to remember that and have more friends over. I look forward to reading your stories as well =)

Start the Conversation =)

