Bon Cop, Bad Cop- Le Franglais is strong in this one

Standard

Bonsoir tout le monde,

So as promised I watched Bon cop, Bad cop and I found myself in  a constant state of laughter.

If you haven’t seen this movie you should watch it. I think it’s an example of a “canadian” film. There are so many references to Canadian culture, the divides between Quebec and Ontario in a comedic way. The movie starts with two cops finding a body on the border of the Quebec/ Ontario line. One cop is from Montreal, the other from Toronto. The Quebecois cop assumes he is not understood and begins to insult the other, soon after these two men have to set thier differences aside to solve the case. Along the way both men find something postive about the other city.What? I’m not telling. The movie is in franglais, a verbal dance of french and english. If you do watch it, let me know what you thought about it. I’m really curious as to whether the film will be recieved differently and why that is the case. To a certain extent it is a cultural thing, what i’m  also wondering is whether certain cultural references are lost in translation. Does that exclude you as an audience member? I personally came from immigrant parents but I was born and raised in Toronto. I went to a bi-lingual campus and I had heard of Quebecois expressions from classmates or in french class. The issue of intercultural experiences be it through film, theatre, music or dance has always intrugued me. If you get an opportunity to see the film I would love to hear your thoughts.

 and now le trailer pour vous!

A la prochaine,

De moi, pour toi

 

 

Start the Conversation =)

