Rene Char- L’homme, le poet, et ses mots

Standard

Bonsoir tout le monde,

When I first decided to look up the man whom Elizabeth Bard quoted in her memoir entitled lunch in Paris: a love story with recipes, I did not know what to expect. The idea of looking up this man who was admired, quoted and then whom I quoted by the sheer fact that his words stuck with me. He had the ability use his words to affect curiousity and change with brevity.

What I found as I read article upon article was that this was a man who influenced those he encountered. From the surrealist movement, to existentialism, born June 14th1907 in L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue and died in Paris on February 19th 1988. This poet influenced the world with his words. His famous works include: Leaves of hypnos, Fureur et mystère, Les Matinaux, Le Nu perdu, among many others. Throughout his life he maintained numerous friendships with artists of the 20th century. These include Albert Camus, Pablo Picasso, and later on in life Martin Heidegger.

Even writing this post I feel I have not done him justice, work in progress right? I still need to read some more of his stuff. What is your favourite Char poem? Or collection of poems?

Personally, the quote from my previous post and the one below are my favourites. I can’t wait to read more on him.

Etre poète, c’est avoir de l’appétit pour un malaise dont la consommation, parmi les tourbillons de la totalité des choses existantes et pressenties, provoque, au moment de se clore, la félicité. {1}(1945)

To be a poet is to have an appetite for a discomfort whose consummation, among the whirlwinds of totality of things existing and foreseen, provokes, at the moment of closure, happiness. {1}

A la prochaine,

De moi, pour toi

{1} caws, mary-ann. n. page. Web. 27 Nov. 2012. <http://www.brooklynrail.org/2007/12/poetry/ren-char&gt;.

Start the Conversation =)

