Spotlight: l’Auberge espagnole

Standard

Shalalala Que Viva La Noche!

If I could go back to university or college one thing I would do differently is spend a year or semester abroad. I would go to France and study in Paris. Or I would go to Italy and study in Rome or somewhere in Sicily. I would study mime and puppetry and dance, poetry, pottery, language, culture, you name it. I wish I would have jumped at the opportunity. If it’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that every moment in our past  prepares us for this very moment. I may just get that chance to go abroad after all.

But before I can sure, I’d like to tell you about a film that encompasses the adventures of living/studying  abroad or travelling. L’Auberge Espagnole follows the story of Xavier who decides to move to Spain and complete his Masters in Economy, in hopes of working at job that will ensure financial security. Xavier not only leaves behind his family but his whole life in Paris for Barcelona. In Barcelona he learns about a new culture, it’s langauge and the compromises of sharing an apartment with roommates from all over Europe. Some things could be lost in translation but what binds them all together is Espana.

L’Auberge Espagnole is a fun film, those who have lived with roomates, studied and travelled abroad will identify with it and those who want to spend a night in will also enjoy this movie.

Be sure to also watch the sequel to this awesome movie entitled: Les Poupees Russes. The continuation of Xavier’s story. Both films are great. And so, for you to understand the charm of l’Auberge Espagnole.I’ve included the trailer.

Olé

A la Prochaine,

De moi pour toi

Start the Conversation =)

