Re-focusing New Years Resolutions

Standard

Bonjour mes chers!

With the first week of the new year coming to a close I’ve decided to go about my new years resolutions in another way. What I’ve discovered in this week is that I’m trying to do too much all at once. What I mean by this is that although my resolutions are built in a way that they can all harmiously co-exist, I need to master one, engrain one habit before adding another. That way I build a good foundation and my new years resolutions stick.

The inspiration for this came in two ways:

First, in attempting to complete or rather, cultivate my resolutions I felt unfocused. I felt that If I continued to do everything all at once I would end up doing nothing.

This lead me to remember:

The Happiness Project- Gretchen Rubin

 On my reference shelf next to Eat Pray Love

Gretchen Rubin and The Happiness Project. In the book Gretchen takes her resolutions and categorizes them by month. She takes the whole month to focus  and work towards a particular goal. She continually challenges herself by then,  adding a new related resolution once she has mastered the first goal. The next month she focuses on another aspect and continues to do so every month.

 How do I plan on re-focusing?

Same principles. By addressing each of my resolutions monthly. So now, for the month of January I will focus on  building a morning routine by waking up early. The goal is 5:00 am everyday. Then I’ll focus on eating breakfast at home before leaving everyday. Once I’ve got those into my system, I’ll be up by 5:00am, have my breakfast and make lunch before leaving my home. If I can manage to squeeze in some time to take a walk, get some writing in or get ahead in my work day that would be amazing.

In Feburary, I will make my plan for maintaining a tidy room and maintaing my french.

I’m excited. I think I can make this work. One step at a time.

A la prochaine,

De moi pour toi

Start the Conversation =)

